Vidyodaya Journal of Science

The principal object of this peer review Journal is to provide a medium for the dissemination of the results of research conducted mainly by the academic staff scientists and eminent scholars outside the University to publish research articles and papers, which, in the opinion of the Board of Editors, are deemed to be significant contributions to Science. The journal is circulated to a large number of libraries of universities, Research Institutes and Learned societies throughout the world.

Vol 20, No 1 (2016)

ISSN 1800-1261

Editor – in – Chief : Prof. Upul Subasinghe

Editors :

  • Prof. C.P. Abayaratne
  • Prof. B.G.D.N.K. De Silva
  • Dr. T.G.I. Fernando


  • Prof. A.M. Abeysekara ( University of Sri Jayewardenepura )
  • Prof. D.A. Tantrigoda ( University of Sri Jayewardenepura )
  • Prof. R.A. Dayananda (University of Sri Jayewardenepura )
  • Prof. H.D. Gunawardene (University of Colombo)
  • Prof. J. Jinadasa (University of Sri Jayewardenepura)
  • Prof. H.G. Nandadasa ( University of Sri Jayewardenepura)
  • Prof. W.D. Ratnasooriya ( University of Colombo )
  • Prof. B.M.P. Singhakumara (University of Sri Jayewardenepura )
  •  Prof. K. Tennakone ( Institute of Fundamental Studies )
  • Prof. K. Thilakaratne (University of Kelaniya )
  • Prof. S. Weerakoon (University of Sri Jayewardenepura )

Vidyodaya Journal of Science publishes research and scholarly articles on pure and applied science written in English, Sinhala or Tamil. It is published annually. Editors welcome contributions from all academic and scientific circles. Any correspondence regarding articles and books for review should be addressed to the Editors of the Journal. Correspondence regarding purchase and Exchange of Journals should be addressed to the Librarian.

Table of Contents


A.G.W.U. Perera, M.M.S.C. Karunaratne, S.D.M. Chinthaka
N. D. N. C. Bandara, W. K. I. L. Wanniarachchi
K.H.S. Shanika, I.N. Harischandra, B.G.D.N.K. De Silva
A. T. Wijeratne, P. Dias, N. Adhikari
D. A. S. Elvitigala, H. K. A Premachandra, Q. Wan, B. Lim, H. Jung, C. Y. Choi, J. Lee